Tag Archives: self-publishing

RISE OF THE CHOSEN by Guest Author Anna Kopp

In Sam’s world there are two rules. Rule #1: Nobody dies. Protect the living at all costs. Rule #2: Everybody dies. At least once.

The Waking was a global event in which a force called the Lifeblood invaded all humans who died. The few strong enough to control it came back as powerful immortals. The rest let the bloodlust take over and awoke with one goal – to kill.

Newly appointed Watch Guard Samantha Shields has a legacy to uphold. Her father died a hero defending their city and now she wants to follow in his footsteps. Except for the dying part, of course. Unfortunately, fate has other plans as she discovers deep dark secrets that make her choose between her loyalties and the lives of everyone in her city. Both rules are in play as Sam is forced to make hard decisions that could cost her everything – including the person she cares about most.

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT RISE OF THE CHOSEN


  • This is not another zombie book
  • Action-packed
  • LGBT MC (#ownvoices)
  • Unpredictable page-turner

Advanced reviewers are calling it ‘intense’, ‘gripping’, and a ‘fresh take on the zombie theme’. Fans of The Walking Dead and Divergent will love this book. But don’t just take their word for it – order on Amazon today and see for yourself!

EXCERPT

“Do you eat? I mean, I know you don’t need to, but do you?” Sam
asked curiously. David gave her a blank stare.
“Eating is inconvenient,” he finally answered, eliciting a confused
look.
“Because it takes time? Or effort?”
“Because it produces unneeded side effects from the body that
could cause an interruption in our duties.”
She mulled over the answer for a moment. Finally understanding
what he was talking about, she turned red as a beet and continued to
eat in silence.
Julian laughed at her reaction.
“That’s our Sarge, always worrying someone’s gonna have to take a
piss in the middle of a call.”
David turned to him. “With you and Mexican food, that’s not the
one I’m worried about.”
Sam almost choked on her burrito.
“Holy shit, did Sarge just make a joke? Well, well, maybe there’s
hope for you after all!”
The death glare from David was interrupted by a loud warning ring
from the computer, followed by the distant wail of a siren. He whirled
around to get the location and was immediately out the door, yelling
back at his scrambling teammates.
“Two at the gate.”

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anna Kopp was born in Russia and immigrated to the United States when she was 11. She joined the US Army and lived in Georgia during her military career before settling down in the Cleveland, Ohio area. She earned her Bachelor’s Degree in business but her true passion is writing. She is a wife and business partner to a software developer, and a mom to two rambunctious boys obsessed with Minecraft. Anna’s hobbies include reading, writing, and playing World of Warcraft. She is a true geek at heart and would love nothing more than to see her imagination become a part of something greater.

Contact Information

WEBSITE: www.annakoppauthor.com
BLOG: annakoppwrites.wordpress.com
GOODREADS: Author Profile
AMAZON: Author Page
FACEBOOK: facebook.com/annakoppwrites
TWITTER: @AnnaKoppAuthor



I would like to thank Anna for her donation to my Website Campaign to raise funds for my movie. I ask that you please take the time to visit Anna’s site, check out her work, and follow along with her on her literary journey. It definitely looks like it is going to be an adventurous and rewarding one.

Now that the IndieGoGo Campaign to raise funds to produce my movie has kicked off, my Website Campaign has ended. I ask that you please check out our stellar cast and crew, see what the flick is about, and, if you feel so compelled, donate to show your support of Independent Filmmakers. And whether you are or are not able to donate, please share the news about the campaign to your network of family and friends.

Thank you!

 
 

Advertisements

HERCULES GONE MAD – FREE AT AMAZON

Hercules Gone Mad Book Cover
When the World Order collapses…

When the Revolution of Neo-Collectivism prevails…

When the Angel of Death strikes out for its final, global purging…

What is a disgraced Special Forces Warrior to do?

HE GOES MAD
 

Get your free copy until midnight tonight (Pacific time) by clicking here
Read an excerpt here

Hello, friends. I am releasing HERCULES GONE MAD and each subsequent book of the HEROES OF DYSTOPIA saga in serialized format, as books were once released in the classic tradition of science fiction writing of days past. I am doing this so that, hopefully, I can get new editions out to you quickly, get your feedback, and incorporate that feedback just as quickly into subsequent editions. Consequently, your feedback and support will be critical to this serialized process. The stories will first be available as ebooks, and then, once all parts of each book have been released, as a completed print edition book.

Each serialized edition of this and subsequent books will be initially released exclusively from Amazon for its Kindle reader. Depending on their success, they will then be released in all other major ebook formats (Nook, Sony Reader, Kobo, IBook, etc.), in addition to a print edition. If you do not have an ebook reader, you can download the free Kindle app from Amazon and read the book online, on your phone, or whatever your preferred reader may be.

If you would like to contact me to discuss my writing, such as providing me feedback on how I can improve the HEROES OF DYSTOPIA saga, or anything else germane to our mutual interests, you can drop me a line by visiting kurtbrindley.com/contact/ and filling out the form, by leaving a comment on the HEROES OF DYSTOPIA page, or by emailing me directly at me@kurtbrindley.com.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read my work. I look forward to hearing from you. Until then, stay tuned for Part Two of HERCULES GONE MAD. It’s coming soon!

Get your free copy of PART ONE: Rebels for Love here
Read an excerpt here

HERCULES GONE MAD – PART ONE: REBELS FOR LOVE now available at Amazon

Hercules Gone Mad Book Cover
When the World Order collapses…

When the Revolution of Neo-Collectivism prevails…

When the Angel of Death strikes out for its final, global purging…

What is a disgraced and discharged Special Forces Warrior to do?

HE GOES MAD
 

Purchase your copy here
Read an excerpt here

Hello, friends. I am releasing HERCULES GONE MAD and each subsequent book of the HEROES OF DYSTOPIA saga in serialized format, as books were once released in the classic tradition of science fiction writing of days past. I am doing this so that, hopefully, I can get new editions out to you quickly, get your feedback, and incorporate that feedback just as quickly into subsequent editions. Consequently, your feedback and support will be critical to this serialized process. The stories will first be available as ebooks, and then, once all parts of each book have been released, as a completed print edition book.

Each serialized edition of this and subsequent books will be initially released exclusively from Amazon for its Kindle reader. Depending on their success, they will then be released in all other major ebook formats (Nook, Sony Reader, Kobo, IBook, etc.), in addition to a print edition. If you do not have an ebook reader, you can download the free Kindle app from Amazon and read the book online, on your phone, or whatever your preferred reader may be.

If you would like to contact me to discuss my writing, such as providing me feedback on how I can improve the HEROES OF DYSTOPIA saga, or anything else germane to our mutual interests, you can drop me a line by visiting kurtbrindley.com/contact/ and filling out the form, by leaving a comment on the HEROES OF DYSTOPIA page, or by emailing me directly at me@kurtbrindley.com.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read my work. I look forward to hearing from you. Until then, stay tuned for Part Two of HERCULES GONE MAD. It’s coming soon!

Purchase your copy of PART ONE: Rebels for Love here
Read an excerpt here

Book Update #4

Note To Self
I’m writing this when I should be wrapping up the final edits of my novel. I’m not wrapping up the final edits of my novel because I’m easily distracted, always on the lookout for a ready diversion. I’m writing this because this is one of those diversions at the ready, ready to save me from the brutality of having to read through my novel–AGAIN. I’m working on the third revision and my fourth draft of a story that I’ve been mulling over for many, many years. I’m at the point now where the more I read over it, the worse it gets.

I probably could get away with blaming all my self-doubting and editorial suffering on the emotional prednisone roller coaster I’m on. I don’t remember ever feeling like this about the story before I began polluting myself with drugs. But the better place to lay the blame would be on the fact that the release date is nigh.

This probably is not the confession I should be making two days before I am supposed to be releasing the story. I guess that’s one of the beauties of being an “indie publisher” (This is the term that I’m starting to see more and more in place of self-publisher…I guess it’s because there’s too much of stigma attached to self-publishing.) Going indie holds me accountable only to myself and any potential reader. If I don’t make a deadline, I only have myself to blame. The chain of command begins and ends with me. It’s up to me whether to put myself on report, or not.

Okay, enough with the bellyaching.
Enough with the diversion.
Back to the pain.

See you on the 19th…I hope. [Unfortunately, the book release has been delayed; but, hopefully, not for too long ~ kurt]